Falkenstein, Vibrazione
Falkenstein, Vibrazione

Postwar Era. A Recent History

Where
Peggy Guggenheim Collection
Category

Good To Know

From

January 23, 2016


To

April 4, 2016

The exhibition Postwar Era. A Recent History. Homages to Jack Tworkov and Claire Falkenstein takes a fresh look at American and European art from post-World War II up until 1979. More than ninety paintings and sculptures from the Peggy Guggenheim Collection, some rarely exhibited before, are grouped by theme, style, affinity, and with less attention given to chronology than usual.

Visitors are also offered an insight into the work of two artists from the Foundation’s Collection: Jack Tworkov (1900-1982) and Claire Falkenstein (1908-1997). The latter is renowned for having created the entrance gates to the museum, commissioned in 1960 by Peggy herself for her former home, Palazzo Venier dei Leoni, now the Peggy Guggenheim Collection.

The exhibition is curated by Luca Massimo Barbero.

Practical Information
please see Peggy Guggenheim Collection

Related Museums

Casa dei Tre Oci in Venice

Casa dei Tre Oci

Category

Casa dei Tre Oci (House of Three Eyes in Venetian dialect) is a three-floor gallery dedicated to photography, situated on the island of Giudecca. The house was conceived between 1912 and 1913 by the painter Mario de Maria (1852-1924) who made it his home in ... [read more]

Doge's Palace in Venice

Doge’s Palace

Category
,

The Doge’s Palace (Palazzo Ducale) in Venice is a unique example of Venetian Gothic architecture and one of the city’s main landmarks. Sitting at the political heart of Venice for most of the Republic’s existence, the building played a vital role in the daily life ... [read more]

Saint Mark's Basilica in Venice

Saint Mark’s Basilica & Museum

Category
,

Saint Mark’s Basilica (Basilica di San Marco) in Venice is the most famous of the city’s churches and one of the best known examples of Italo-Byzantine architecture. Situated at the eastern end of Saint Mark’s Square (Piazza San Marco), next to the Doge’s Palace, originally ... [read more]